SSP Annual Conference

2012 Annual Meeting Presentations
Registration Information Hotel Information Travel Information
Printable Registration Form Preliminary Program Speaker Bios
Sneak-a-Peek at the Attendee List Onsite Program  


Annual Conference

The SSP Board of Directors, Annual Meeting Program, and Education Committees are pleased to present the program for the 34th SSP Annual Meeting, "Social, Mobile, Agile, Global: Are You Ready?" May 30 - June 1, 2012 at the Marriott Crystal Gateway, Arlington, Virginia

Tweet during the meeting - the hashtag for Twitter is #SSP2012

Meeting Highlights:

  • Opening Keynote Presentations:
    How Social Media Might Transform Scholarly Publishing, by Dan Cohen, Associate Professor, Department of History and Art History and Director, Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University The Business of Social and Mobile, by Larry Schwartz, co-founder and President of Newstex
  • Plenary Address:
    The Rise of Networked Information, by Lee Rainie, Director of the Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project
  • Pre-meeting seminars, offering in-depth discussions and practical advice on areas of interest.
  • Concurrent sessions, presenting new ideas and cutting-edge information on a range of important topics in scholarly publishing.
  • Exhibitor’s Marketplace, providing a central area to learn more about new products, programs, services and solutions for your scholarly publishing needs.
  • Evening receptions, interactive lunches and many other networking opportunities.



2012 Travel Grant Winners

Five Early Career awardees: Five Student awardees:
Katherine Bridgewater, Wiley-Blackwell
Lauren Crocker, Wayne State University Press
Dawn Durante, University of Illinois Press
Korey Jackson, MPublishing – University of Michigan
Crystal Thompson, Families in Society, Alliance for Children and Families
Joana Costa Knufinke, New York University
Anamika Dasgupta, Long Island University
Emily McHugh, McGill University
Erich Purpur, University of North Carolina
Nicholas Weber, University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign



Exhibitor Prize Drawing
Be sure to stop by these exhibit booths and drop off your business card or entry form to enter drawings to win the following prizes. The drawing will take place in the Exhibitors’ Marketplace on Thursday evening at 6:30 p.m.

Advantage Computing Systems – Booth:  401
Garmin nuvi 1450LMT 5” GPS with Lifetime Maps and Traffic

Aries Systems - Booth: 412
iPod touch

BookMasters - Booth: 310
NOOK Color

Cenveo Publisher Services - Booth(s): 304/306
$500 Southwest Airlines gift card

a division of Cactus Communications, Inc. - Booth: 305

$100 Best Buy gift card

Kaufman Wills Fusting & Company - Booth: 308
Three $100 iTunes gift cards

Microsoft Research - Booth: 407
XBOX 360 with Kinect

NPC Inc. / Enivation – Booth: 300

OmniPress – Booth: 408
Amazon Kindle Fire

PreMedia Global – Booth: 112
$250 Amazon gift card

Spi-Global - Booth: 201
$100 Amex gift card

The Charlesworth Group - Booth: 210                                                       
$50 Amazon gift certificate

Thomson Reuters – Booth(s): 108/110
$100 Amex gift card



More information

Registration Annual ConferenceREGISTRATION INFORMATION

Conference Registration Fees:

Full Meeting
May 4th
May 4th
  One Day Rates Before
May 4th
May 4th
Member* $605 $685   One-Day Member $360 $410
Non-Member* $755 $805   One-Day Non-Member $385 $435
Librarian or Student or Retired Member $310 $360   One-Day Librarian or Student or Retired Member $115 $165
Librarian or Student or Retired Non-Member $360 $410   One-Day Librarian or Student or Retired Non-Member $140 $190

Additional Fees            
Pre-Meeting Seminars Members $199 $249        
Pre-Meeting Seminars Non-Members $249 $299   Additional Exhibit Personnel $160  

*Three or more registrants from the same organizations take a $50 discount ($25 discount for three or more SSP Librarian/Student members from same institution) off the full meeting fees for each registrant.  All registration forms must be submitted at the same time. For online registrants, please indicate the other members in your organization in the Comments box of the recipient information page.


How to register:

  • Online with a credit card. Confirmations will be sent by e-mail.
  • Fax the registration form to 303.422.8894 with payment.
  • Mail the registration form and payment to: SSP, 10200 W. 44th Ave, Suite 304, Wheat Ridge, CO 80033

Written requests for registration refunds or cancellations must be postmarked on or before May 4, 2012. Annual Meeting registrations will be refunded less a $50 processing fee. Applicable refunds will be processed following the meeting. No refunds will be made for requests submitted after May 4, 2012. Refunds will not be made for no-shows.



Hotel Annual Conference HOTEL INFORMATION

Conference Location:
Marriott Crystal Gateway
1700 Jefferson Davis Highway
Arlington, Virginia 22202
Tel: (703) 920-3230
Fax: (703) 271-5212
Online Reservation





Travel Annual ConferenceTRAVEL INFORMATION



Back To Top